Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold Book Review

I was recently contacted by a book publisher to have my students review an adventure mystery series by Iain Reading called Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold.  Below is a summary of the book, and my sixth graders thoughts.  If you are a Canadian reader, this book may be of particular interest to you as it covers Canadian Provinces and history.   My students enjoyed making connections between the Canadian history and US history, and this may also interest some of your students that enjoy research projects.  

Drako thought:  "I really liked the character of Kitty.  I thought it was cool that a yound girl could learn to fly, and I liked the titles of each chapter.  Sometimes I thought the sentences were long, but I liked learning about the Yukon."

Chloe thought:  "I liked when the author introduced the character of Charlie.  I think the adventure really got started then.  Kitty was a funny, strong-willed character and it made me laugh when she wanted Starbucks."

Bhumi thought:  "  Kitty Hawk is funny, creative, determined and loving.  I love how she cares about the environment and their creatures.  Kitty Hawk has a true heart and I liked how she became friends with Charlie, Jay Will and Buck.  They started off not trusting each other, but they used their strong will to achieve their goal.  I enjoyed that Ian Reading used real life places and history like Amelia Earhart to keep my attention. It was funny to read about Walmart, McDonald's and Starbucks in the book.   My only complaint is the text style.  The font was small, and at first I was afraid the book would not be good.  But I worked through it and found I really enjoyed it!"

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new young adult series of adventure mystery stories by Iain Reading. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations. 

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales, Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty's adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada. As the plot continues to unfold, this spirited story will have readers anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada's Yukon.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a perfect book to fire the imagination of readers of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history this book will inspire anyone to learn and experience more for themselves. 

There are currently four books in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (book 1), Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway's Ghost (book 2), Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (book 3), and Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (book 4). Each book can be read as a standalone.

“In the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series the heroine finds herself in a new geographic location in each book. The series will eventually have a total of 13 books in it (maybe more) and her flight around the world will be completed in the end,” says Iain. “The books are sequential but one could definitely read any of the later ones before reading the earlier ones.”

About the Author:
Iain Reading is passionate about Root Beer, music, and writing. He is Canadian, but currently resides in the Netherlands working for the United Nations.

Iain has published 4 books in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series (Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold, Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway's Ghost, Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue, and Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic). He is currently working on the 5th book in the series. For more information, go to  

Iain is also the author of The Wizards of Waterfire Series. The first book in the series The Guild of the Wizards of Waterfire was published in April 2014.

Connect with Iain on Twitter and Goodreads.

1 comment

  1. Hi Michele, I love your blog! I'm currently hosting a giveaway and was hoping you would be so kind to donate a product. It's a fundraiser for Autism that will take place from April 1 -30. Please hop on over to my blog for more info.
    Teacher’s Lounge


Thank you for taking the time to comment. I will make every effort to respond back to you!

Back to Top